St Mary's Parish Council


St Mary's Parish Council is the senior advisory body to the Parish Priest which is comprised of members elected from St Mary’s, St Margaret’s, St Robert’s and Christ the King parish communities. It provides an overview and review mechanism for parishioner ideas views and issues to be addressed.


Membership (ex-officio) includes Fr Jim, Sr Anne (Pastoral Associate), and representatives from the parish primary school principals. Elected members are selected from each of the parish communities which make up the wider St Mary’s community: Christ the King (2 members); St Margaret's (2 members); St Mary's and St Robert's (4 members combined).


Each member is elected for a fixed 2-year period and may serve a maximum of two consecutive 2-year terms (totalling four years). Elections are held annually for half the council members in order to provide continuity of policy and familiarity with ongoing parish initiatives. A further six members may be nominated to serve particular temporary roles within the council: Four by the parish priest, and two by the parish council. These are flexible 2-year positions that may be renewed or re-nominated if required.


The offices of Chairperson and two Deputy Chairpersons are elected by the council from within its membership, and together with the Parish Priest constitute the Parish Council Executive.


Parish Priest:

Name:  Fr Jim Clarke



Name:   Barry Leith

Deputy Chairperson:

Name:   Brendan Sullivan


Name:   Nola Schwidlewski

Other Council Members:

Brian Everett (Principal, St Margaret's Primary, East Geelong)

Mark Soldani (Principal, St Roberts Primary, Newtown)

Annice Lappin (Principal, St Mary's Primary, Geelong)

Jose Blackley  (Principal, Christ The King Primary, Newcomb)

Sr Lesley Dickinson

Sr Anne Lourey (Pastoral Associate)

James McTernan

Maria Monea

Jayson Sandian

Deb Smit

Ian Shawcross